top of page
Search
  • The Olatunjis

DEAR PHILIP, WELCOME TO PLATINUM!

Updated: May 18, 2020


Although I had known Philip through the Full Gospel Business Men's Fellowship International since the late 1980s, we became intimate only following my late wife's health challenge in late 1995.

I returned home from a Benin City trip around mid-November to find that my wife had slumped and late Engr. Tòkunbọ̀ Obayan, whom my daughter called, had arranged for her to see Dr. Philip Sọla Olatunji. (Dr. Olatunji had breezed in to see her that same evening). That was a weekend. She was to see him at his office at the University of Ilorin Teaching Hospital (UITH) the following Monday. Around 4.00 p.m. that Monday, she began to feel so uncomfortable, and we had to rush her to him two hours ahead of schedule. From that moment, Philip (and Ayọ̀) took my late wife like their own mother. He personally handled the biopsy, arranged her admission, came to her bedside twice daily and personally monitored her. His office became my sleeping place at nights whenever my wife slept.

When she finally passed on five months later - on Thursday, April 25, Philip came all the way from Adéwọlé Housing Estate, where he lived to my house, off Niger River Basin area - over 5km distance - twice daily between Friday April 26, and Monday 29,1996. His concern for my internal well being took on voice early on Saturday morning about 6.30am. I had not wept all the while, and that had given him concern. But something happened, and I began to sob. He came in just then, even as my children were waking up one another to console me. Philip's words were: "Thank God, he has begun to cry aloud at last. I was worried he might be weeping inside."

He is loving – yes, Philip is - caring, compassionate, generous and encouraging. He has a rich sense of soothing humor steeped in deep Biblical wisdom that made what could have been devastating information more readily absorbable. I cannot remember seeing him angry; but I can tell you that he always wears a smiling face, that says: "I love you, cheer up". Pity! I lost their intimate filial love and relationship when ruiners came to head the University of Ilorin. But even after relocating, each time they included a call at my house in their itinerary, they never came without bringing me one food item or the other.

You are welcome to the Senior Citizens' platform. Welcome to your Platinum. Because you live Deuteronomy 5.26a, your Creator will give you length of days, and it will go well with you. In the name of Jesus.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY, Philip Ṣọlá Olatunji. Pa Olusola Ajolore Senior friend and mentor.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page